Venezuela, officially the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, is a country on the northern coast of South America, consisting of a continental landmass and many islands and islets in the Caribbean Sea. It has a territorial extension of 916,445 km², and the population of Venezuela was estimated at 28 million in 2019. The capital and largest urban agglomeration is the city of Caracas. The continental territory is bordered on the north by the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean, on the west by Colombia, Brazil on the south, Trinidad and Tobago to the north-east and on the east by Guyana. The Venezuelan government maintains a claim against Guyana to Guayana Esequiba. Venezuela is a federal presidential republic consisting of 23 states, the Capital District and federal dependencies covering Venezuela's offshore islands. Venezuela is among the most urbanized countries in Latin America; the vast majority of Venezuelans live in the cities of the north and in the capital.

Read more in the app

Venezuela may put an astronaut on a Chinese moon mission

China invites Venezuela to join moon base project - SpaceNews

Deforestation in Venezuela surges as gold miners ransack the Amazon

A network of young scientists and doctors aims to rebuild Venezuela’s devastated public health system

Hints of New Life in the Shadows of Venezuela's Last Glacier

Tiny Passerine Bird Rediscovered in Venezuela: Urich’s Tyrannulet

If you summitted the Andes 20 million years ago, you might have looked out on a glinting inland sea, big enough to sail from Paraguay to Venezuela. Here's the story of that waterway and the rainforest biodiversity that may be its legacy.