South China Sea

The South China Sea is a marginal sea of the Western Pacific Ocean. It is bounded in the north by the shores of South China, in the west by the Indochinese Peninsula, in the east by the islands of Taiwan and northwestern Philippines, and in the south by Borneo, eastern Sumatra and the Bangka Belitung Islands, encompassing an area of around 3,500,000 km². It communicates with the East China Sea via the Taiwan Strait, the Philippine Sea via the Luzon Strait, the Sulu Sea via the straits around Palawan, the Strait of Malacca via the Singapore Strait, and the Java Sea via the Karimata and Bangka Straits. The Gulf of Thailand and the Gulf of Tonkin are also part of the South China Sea. The shallow waters south of the Riau Islands are also known as the Natuna Sea. The South China Sea is a region of tremendous economic and geostrategic importance. One-third of the world's maritime shipping passes through it, carrying over US$3 trillion in trade each year.

Read more in the app

Chinese teams begin study of sunken Ming-era ships found in South China Sea

'Keep Out, This Is Our Territory': China Could Gobble Moon As It Is Doing With South China Sea - NASA Boss

Researchers discover 'hotspots' of three-layered alternatively rotating circulation in South China Sea

The Navy Extracted a Jet Fighter from 12,400 Feet below the Surface of the South China Sea

The Fish Farms of Hainan Island in the South China Sea