The Nobel Prizes ( noh-BEL; Swedish: Nobelpriset [nʊˈbɛ̂lːˌpriːsɛt]; Norwegian: Nobelprisen [nʊˈbɛ̀lːˌpriːsn̩]) are five separate prizes that, according to Alfred Nobel's will of 1895, are awarded to "those who, during the preceding year, have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind." Alfred Nobel was a Swedish chemist, engineer, and industrialist most famously known for the invention of dynamite.

Read more in the app

Nobel-winning neuroscientist faces scrutiny for data discrepancies in more than a dozen papers

Nobel-winning biologist on the most promising ways to stop ageing

Roger Guillemin, 100, Nobel-Winning Scientist Stirred by Rivalries, Dies

From Code to Chemistry: Coscientist, the AI System Mastering Nobel Prize-Winning Reactions

Neil Armstrong and Nobel physicist Richard Feynman led the investigation of the Space Shuttle Challenger disaster. Feynman was annoyed at being called by NASA and fighting cancer but his wife urged him to join the commission

Why Women Earn Less Than Men: Economic Historian Wins Nobel for Work on Gender Pay Gap

Gender pay gap research wins economics Nobel

How These Nobel-Winning Physicists Explored Tiny Glimpses of Time

Creators of quantum dots, used in TV displays and cell studies, win chemistry Nobel

Technique to see the ultrafast world of electrons wins 2023 physics Nobel

Sculptors of the shortest flashes of light win physics Nobel

A Nobel laureate claimed antimale discrimination. An early-career researcher called it out

Winning a Nobel Prize may be bad for your productivity

Nobel Laureate John B. Goodenough dies at 100

John B. Goodenough, 100, Dies; Nobel-Winning Creator of the Lithium-Ion Battery

Nobel prize winner Giorgio Parisi: ‘There’s a lack of trust in science – we need to show how it’s done’

Nobel Laureate Dr. Andrea Ghez on the supermassive black hole at the center of our galaxy

Nobel-Winning Exoplanet Hunter Says Astrobiology Will Remain A Long, Hard Slog

Graduate student Jocelyn Bell Burnell and her supervisor, Antony Hewish, built a radio telescope to observe quasars in 1967. Their discovery won the 1974 Nobel Prize – for Hewish. 50 years later, Burnell was awarded $3 Million in the Special Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

From lasers to a Nobel Prize: A conversation with Donna Strickland