Copenhagen is the capital and most populous city of Denmark. As of 1st July 2022, the city proper had a population of 809,314. The city proper is defined by Statistics Denmark to consist of Copenhagen Municipality, Frederiksberg Municipality, Tårnby Municipality, and Dragør Municipality, of which 2,711,554 live in the Danish part as of 1st January 2022. Copenhagen is situated on the eastern coast of the island of Zealand; another portion of the city is located on Amager, and it is separated from Malmö, Sweden, by the strait of Øresund. The Øresund Bridge connects the two cities by rail and road. Originally a Viking fishing village established in the 10th century in the vicinity of what is now Gammel Strand, Copenhagen became the capital of Denmark in the early 15th century. Beginning in the 17th century, it consolidated its position as a regional centre of power with its institutions, defences, and armed forces.

Read more in the app

Global warming doubled the risk for Copenhagen's historic 2011 cloudburst