Canary Islands

The Canary Islands, also known informally as the Canaries, are a Spanish autonomous community and archipelago in the Atlantic Ocean, in Macaronesia. At their closest point to the African mainland, they are 100 kilometres west of Morocco. They are the southernmost of the autonomous communities of Spain. The islands have a population of 2.2 million people and they are the most populous special territory of the European Union. The eight main islands are Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera, El Hierro and La Graciosa. The archipelago includes many smaller islands and islets, including Alegranza, Isla de Lobos, Montaña Clara, Roque del Oeste, and Roque del Este. It also includes a number of rocks, including those of Salmor, Fasnia, Bonanza, Garachico, and Anaga. In ancient times, the island chain was often referred to as "the Fortunate Isles".

Read more in the app

First-light observations with U.K. Canary Islands telescope upgrade reveal the spectra of a pair of galaxies 280 million light years away from Earth

Sizing Up Last Year's Eruption in the Canary Islands

Exploring Earth From Space: Fuerteventura and Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Exploring Earth From Space: Tenerife, Canary Islands

Canary Islands Eruption Resets Volcano Forecasts

Eruption in the Canary Islands Is Likely Its Largest in Centuries

Ash and Lava Flows Continue to Wreak Havoc on La Palma in the Canary Islands