Artemis Accords

The Artemis Accords are a series of non-binding multilateral agreements between the United States government and other world governments participating in the Artemis Program, an American-led effort to return humans to the Moon by 2025, with the ultimate goal of expanding space exploration to Mars and beyond. As of July 2022, 24 countries and one territory have signed the accords, including eight in Europe, seven in Asia, three in North America, two in Oceania, two in Africa, and two in South America. Drafted by NASA and the U.S. Department of State, the Accords establish a framework for cooperation in the civil exploration and peaceful use of the Moon, Mars, and other astronomical objects. They are explicitly grounded in the United Nations Outer Space Treaty of 1967, which signatories are obliged to uphold, and cite most major U.N.-brokered conventions constituting space law.

Read more in the app

What are the Artemis Accords?

Nigeria, Rwanda become 1st African nations to sign Artemis Accords

After Russia’s exit from the Lunar Gateway, NASA has found a new partner in UAE — The United Arab Emirates is a founding member of the Artemis Accords

NASA Welcomes Nigeria, Rwanda as Newest Artemis Accords Signatories

What are the Artemis Accords? Understanding the international agreements around the upcoming Artemis missions and what they mean for the future of space.

Artemis Accords: Why the international moon exploration framework matters

Artemis Accords: Why the international moon exploration framework matters

France becomes 20th nation to sign Artemis Accords for moon exploration

Artemis Accords: France to join NASA's moon exploration mission

Lunar Research Station: Russia, China Almost Ready To Ink Pact On 'Moon Base' That Will Rival Artemis Accords

Colombia signs the Artemis Accords for peaceful space exploration

Colombia signs Artemis Accords - SpaceNews

Romania signs the Artemis Accords for space exploration cooperation

Israel signs Artemis accords for moon exploration

Israel becomes 15th nation to join Artemis Accords

Mexico joins Artemis Accords. Mexico will become the fourteenth country to sign the Artemis Accords, a document addressing various issues regarding safe and sustainable space exploration, many of which are directly tied to the Outer Space Treaty and other international accords.

Poland signs Artemis Accords

Brazil joins Artemis Accords

Brazil makes history in signing the Artemis Accords for moon exploration

New Zealand signs Artemis Accords to urge sustainability in space mining